Pelicans

Living near Duck Island are St James's Park's famous resident pelicans. Pelicans were first introduced into St James's Park in 1664 as a gift from the Russian Ambassador.


Regular visitors can see the pelicans basking on their favourite rocks and getting fed fresh fish between 2:30 pm and 3:00 pm every day adjacent to the Duck Island Cottage.

They're gregarious, social creatures and there are numerous stories of their entertaining antics.

One rather mischievous pelican used to fly over to London Zoo in Regent's Park to steal their fish for his lunch and they're often seen climbing out of the lake to sit on the benches alongside visitors!